For Those Who Missed the Monte Carlo Rally—

Details of the Second International Tulip-Rally

For those whose entries misfired for the Monte Carlo Rally, we give below details of the International Tulip-Rally:—

The Second International Tulip-Rally is being organised by the Regionale Automobielsport Club “R.A.C.-WEST” with the approval of the Royal Netherlands Automobile Club (K.N.A.C.) and with the co-operation of those Automobile Clubs which are affiliated to the F.I.A. The dates, April 16th to 22nd, have been reserved for this big sporting event on the International Sporting Calendar for 1950.

When the first “Tulip-Rally” was held last year there were 159 competing cars, 58 of which come from outside Holland. The competitors started from the following places: The Hague (70), Rome (21), Monte Carlo (21), Brussels (19), Berne (15), Glasgow (8) and London (5) and twelve nationalities were represented.

From the point of view both of organisation and of sport this first Rally to the land of the tulip fields was a great success. The spontaneous and valuable help given by numerous Automobile Clubs and by Customs authorities all over Western Europe, as well as the enthusiasm and hospitality with which the competitors were received in Holland, were important contributions towards this success.

The Organising Committee are expecting a large number of competitors from abroad in 1950 and they have decided to give priority to 150 non-Dutch applications for entry. The total number of teams admitted will be approximately 225, the remaining places being allotted to Dutch entries.

It is intended to arrange for starting-places in: The Hague, London, Monte Carlo, Glasgow, Copenhagen, Berne, Rome, Paris, Bordeaux and Brussels. Now that petrol rationing in France is over there will be starting-points in Paris and Bordeaux. Copenhagen is also a new starting-point and it is expected that this will arouse great interest, not only in the Scandinavian countries. The finish is again at Noordwijkaan-Zee. The ten routes are each about 3,200 kilometres long.

Another innovation is that all competitors must follow the same route over the last 1,400 kilometres of the Rally, starting from Chalon-sur-Saone and passing through Belfort, Gérardmer, Luxembourg, Liége, Eindhoven, Arnhem, Hengelo, Groningen and Alkmaar to Noordwijk.

Between Belfort. and Gérardmer is a moderately difficult mountain stretch of about 140 kilometres (“the Route of the Fifteen Mountains”), while between Luxembourg and Liége a winding stretch of about 215 kilometres has been worked out (“the Route of a Thousand Curves”). For these special stages the required average speed of 50 k.p.h. which obtains throughout the rest of the Rally will be lowered or raised according to the classification of the cars (up to 750-c.c., from 750 to 1,100-c.c., from 1,100 to 1,500-c.c., and over 1,500-c.c. cylinder volume).

These special stages follow excellent roads and will not demand front the cars or their drivers more than is compatible with the general character of the Rally. it has been already abundantly proved that any good driver with a normal standard-type car can fulfil the requirements of these tests.

The eliminating test, which will again be held on the race-track at Zandvoort, will serve to determine the final order of those competitors who finish at Noordwijk aan Zee without penalty marks or who “tie” with others. This method will prevent the eliminating test being a major factor in calculating the final result.

Details of neither the special Stages nor the eliminating test will be disclosed until the moment that the competitors are starting for the one or the other.

The distribution of prizes clearly demonstrates that the Rally actually consists of four competitions, one for each of the separate classes of cars, each with its own result, while the best performances in the general result will be awarded extra prizes.

The controls will not be more than 200 to 250 kilometres apart. The organisers expect this to result in a smaller number of competitors finishing without penalty marks than in 1949. This is, of course, one of the objects of the special stages.

The average speed assigned is 50 k.p.h. The maximum average speed of 65 k.p.h. between any two controls may in no case be exceeded. Competitors will not be started from the time-controls before the scheduled time based on an average speed of 50 k.p.h. Reporting too late at a time-control will be penalised with one penalty mark per minute. Time lost must be made up over other stages but the penalty marks received cannot be annulled. A competitor who is more than two hours late at a time-control will be disqualified.

Only normal standard-type private cars without superchargers may be used. Only a few minor changes to engine or to technical equipment may be made, so that all good drivers with reasonable staying power and an average good car have an equal chance of finishing well in the Rally.

Numerous prizes are offered, including cash prizes as well as silver cups, challenge cups with replicas, silver plaques, etc.

Every entrant who finishes in the Rally will receive for his car a handsome enamelled Rally-Plaque 1950, while each entrant and passenger will also receive the Rally Badge with the date 1950.

The teams may not consist of more than three persons.

Various receptions and excursions are in preparation for the competitors, while on Saturday, April 22nd the event will be closed with a formal prize-giving accompanied by cocktails, champagne and supper, offered by the Organising Committee at the Hotel “Huis ter Duin” at Noordwijk aan Zee, followed by an evening party and dancing.

The Regulations, in three languages (English, French and Dutch) will be ready at the end of January. They contain amongst other things, exact descriptions of the ten Rally routes, with distances, control-times, etc., and may be obtained, on written application, from the Secretary of “R.A.C.-WEST,” van Alkemadelaan 259, The Hague.

Attention is drawn to the fact that entries close on March 4th next.