MSA's champions include our man

The MSA’s Night of Champions award ceremony at the Royal Automobile Club in Pall Mall, London, was as big a success as always.

Sadly World Champion Lewis Hamilton, who won the Hawthorn Trophy, couldn’t be at the event due to the launch of the 2009 McLaren. But he left a video message for the 200 or so people who attended.

The awards included everything from the British Cadet Kart Championship – which was won by Roy Johnson – to the British Touring Car Championship, won by Fabrizio Giovanardi who advised the guests “not to drink too much” via another recorded message.

Mark Blundell presented the winners with their prizes, while Tony Jardine kept the evening going with his usual light-hearted commentary. The special awards included Pat Moss-Carlsson being posthumously given the Lord Wakefield Trophy, Motor Sport’s Ed Foster receiving the Renault MSA Young Journalist of the Year prize, and LAT photographer Drew Gibson being named the Renault MSA Young Photographer of the Year.