VSCC Wessex Trial

Despite a rather gloomy forecast, the 1981 Wessex Trial took place in dry, if cold, weather at the beginning of April. The sections were thus relatively easy and scores high. Barry Clarke once again took premier award with his much modified Austin Chummy, while of the larger cars, Club President Tom Threlfall and his brother-in-law Richard Campbell shared top honours with a brace of Model A Fords. Vauxhalls were much in evidence, but fewer than 13 being entered, although 30/98 registrar David Marsh was unable to compete due to injuries sustained when dismounting from his penny-farthing rather faster than intended. Roger Collings was campaigning the 1903 Mercedes but his hill storming successes of last year were not to be repeated due to a blocked carburetter jet. Altogether, 56 competitors tackled 14 sections.


Wessex Trophy: Barry Clarke (1928/35 Austin Chummy).

First Class Awards: David Uglow (1937 HRG), Mike Hirst (1928 Alvis 12/50), Tom Threlfall (1928 Ford A), Richard Campbell (1930 Ford A), Peter Garland (1927 Vauxhall 30/98).

Second Class Awards: Alan Fairless (1926/30 Austin Special), Harry Spence (1930 Lea Francis Special), David Ellison (1938 Riley-Mercedes), Bernard Kain (1929 Bugatti Type 43/44), Alistair Templeton (1922 Vauxhall 30/98 E), Tony Jones (1923 Vauxhall 30/98 OE).

Third Class Awards: Richard Clark (1937 HRG), Stephen Dear (1934 MG PA), Keith Hill (1930 AJS), Patrick March (1923 Vauxhall 30/98 Wensum), Bruce Spoilson (1925 Vauxhall 30/98 Wensum).