A perfect weekend to 'ring in the old'

Oldtimer Grand Prix,Nürburgring

The 29m Oldtimer meeting at the Nürburgring offered a varied race card on the modern track plus a three-hour marathon for GT cars on the Nordschleife. In addition there were parades of Ferraris and Maseratis, Guy Smith in the Le Mans Bentley and many other attractions.

Notable performances were put up by Flavien Marcais, who won both HGPCA Pre-61 races in Nicholson’s Cooper-Bristol, defeating BRM and Maserati opposition, while Gregor Fisken’s similar car came second; Thomas Bscher’s BRM P261 was dominant among the Pre-66 GP cars, with the ‘Stackpipe’ BRM P257 of Irvine Laidlaw finishing fifth.

Bscher also won both 1950s sportscar rounds in his 5.7-litre Maserati 4505, although the usual British front-runners were not competing.

The FIA Thoroughbred GP round was won by Fredy Kumschick’s Williams FW07 from Richard Eyre’s ’08 and Paul Ingram’s Tyrrell 011,after Duncan Dayton’s Williams collided with Ingram on the first lap.

Group C cars were well represented: Phillip Brunn’s Porsche 956 and Graham Hathaway (Jaguar XJR11) took a win apiece, Brunn taking over-all honours on aggregate.

Both International Supersports Cup races were dominated by the McLaren M8F of Hoffman, but he was disqualified from race one, leaving Steve Worrad to win in the March 717. Denis Welch claimed FIA Formula Junior honours and son Jeremy triumphed in the HA GT Class 4 race driving a Healey. The other GT race was won by Allen Lloyd’s GT40 after Rob Schirle’s leading TVR Griffith was disqualified for punting off Bill Shepherd’s Cobra.

A shortened marathon was won by a Lotus Elan 1/2 driven by last year’s winner Tommy Bronson. The Jaguar E-type of Lloyd/Gerry Wainwright was a worthy third despite running on unsuitable tyres. Paul Parker