Tourist Trophy

The Tourist Trophy Celebration race has become one of the main attractions of the Goodwood Revival due to its glamorous combination of exotic road-going GT cars and the leading drivers of the day.

Run at Goodwood between 1958 and 1964, the Tourist Trophy was a three-hour endurance race for World Championship sports cars, and later for GT cars. It evolved from the Nine Hours race, the prototype cars of the 1950s gradually being succeeded by production-based sports cars such as the virtually standard Ferrari 250GT SWB that Stirling Moss drove to victory in 1960 and ’61. The race was a happy hunting ground for Moss. He had also won in 1958 (with Tony Brooks) and 1959 (with Carroll Shelby and Jack Fairman), both times in an Aston Martin DBR1.

Then came the Ferrari years, Innes Ireland and Graham Hill both winning in 250GTOs in 1962 and 1963, with Hill victorious in a Ferrari 330P in 1964.

At the Revival, the TT Celebration is a one-hour, two-driver challenge for closed-cockpit GT cars built between 1960 and 1964, featuring some of the most famous names in motorsport. They compete in the cream of exotic GT cars, estimated to be collectively worth about £30million.

The Ferrari 250GTO has become synonymous with the event, alongside the 330LMB and the 250SWB. Jaguar is well represented, with Lightweights and Low-Drag E-types fighting it out with Cobras, Shelby Daytonas, Aston Martin DB4GT Zagatos and the Project cars (see page 38), plus Chevrolet Corvette Sting Rays and Sunbeam Tigers.

Inspired by the exploits of the great drivers of the 1960s – some of whom have also competed in the modern TT Celebration, such as Sir Stirling Moss, Sir Jack Brabham, John Surtees and Phil Hill – recent competitors include Damon Hill, Gerhard Berger, Alan Jones, Derek Bell, Johnny Herbert, Allan McNish, Martin Brundle, Jochen Mass, Emanuele Pirro, Patrick Tambay, René Arnoux and Henri Pescarolo. It’s a unique event.

Here we present historic images of the Tourist Trophy at Goodwood – a history which continues.