2021 MotoGP calendar: 20-round provisional schedule revealed


The provisional 2021 MotoGP calendar has been published, with a full 20-round championship planned for next season

Marc Marquez celebrates victory in the 2019 MotoGP Dutch TT at Assen

Assen returns for 2021 - as will Márquez

Honda HRC

MotoGP has published its provisional calendar for 2021, as it looks to return to normality next year.

For now, a full season of racing is planned, beginning in Qatar on March 28, and running until November 14 when Ricardo Tormo is set to host the season finale in Valencia.

The calendar includes a delayed debut for Finland’s KymiRing, which was due to host a race this season before the Covid-19 pandemic forced a revision.

There’s also a return to a fully trans-continental MotoGP championship (virus-permitting), with Termas de Rio Hondo in Argentina scheduled as the second race of the season, followed by the Circuit of the Americas.

The end of the season has a familiar Australasian feel. The Japanese, Thai, Australian and Malaysian Grands Prix will make for a packed October before the paddock heads to Spain for the final race.

One slot on the provisional calendar is still to be assigned, while Portimao, Mandalika in Indonesia and the St Petersburg Igora Drive Circuit are on the reserve list.

Next year should see the return to Assen, which was a victim of last year’s rescheduled season when it failed to host a grand prix for the first time since the start of the world championship in 1949. Silverstone is also back, with a bank holiday race provisionally scheduled for August 29.


2021 provisional MotoGP Calendar

Qatar* Losail International Circuit March 28
Argentina Termas de Rio Hondo April 11
Americas Circuit of the Americas April 18
Spain Circuit de Jerez May 2
France Le Mans May 16
Italy Autodromo del Mugello May 30
Catalunya Barcelona – Catalunya June 6
Germany Sachsenring June 20
Netherlands TT Circuit Assen June 27
Finland** KymiRing July 11
To be decided ? TBD
Austria Red Bull Ring – Speilberg August 15
Great Britain Silverstone August 29
Aragón MotorLand Aragón September 12
San Marino Misano World Circuit September 19
Japan Twin Ring Motegi October 3
Thailand Chang International Circuit October 10
Australia Philip Island October 24
Malaysia Sepang International Circuit October 31
Valencia Valencia – Ricardo Tormo November 14

* Evening race ** Subject to homologation

Reserve Grand Prix Venues

Portugal Algarve International Circuit
Indonesia Mandalika
Russia Igora Drive Circuit