W Series qualifiers announced

Motorsport News

Long list of drivers set to qualify for 2019 W Series grid announced

W Series qualifying list announced

All-female championship W Series has announced its list of 50 drivers who will compete for the 18 spots on the grid when the season starts in May 2019.

More than 100 applicants from 30 countries were considered. The selection process is a three-day trial including psychometric and fitness tests and driving skill tests in the 2019 Tatuus T-318, with David Coulthard, Alex Wurz and W Series racing director Dave Ryan among the judges.

CEO Catherine Bond Muir said: “We are thrilled but perhaps not surprised by the response.

“Even today there is a massive gender imbalance in motor sport and W Series is making the first step to correct that.  

“Drivers from all over the world have stepped forward, so it’s clear that with the right framework we can make the changes this sport desperately needs.”

More: W Series: The case for

W Series is free to enter, with a $500,000 prize for the winner, while travel and maintenance costs are fully funded.

“We designed W Series specifically to shine a light on female talent right around the world,” added Coulthard – also on the W Series advisory board.

“I can’t wait to be part of the next stage and to see some of that talent in action.”

The season starts at Hockenheim, Germany, on May 3. W Series will support every DTM round including the Brands Hatch race on August 10-11.

More: W Series: The case against

W Series qualifying drivers

Driver Country
Chelsea Angelo Australia
Charlotte Poynting Australia
Caitlin Wood Australia
Sarah Bovy Belgium
Naomi Schiff Belgium
Bruna Tomaselli Brazil
Megan Gilkes Canada
Taegen Poles Canada
Grace Gui China
Veronika Cicha Czech Republic
Michelle Gatting Denmark
Emma Kimilainen Finland
Milla Mäkelä Finland
Angelique Germann Germany
Michelle Halder Germany
Marylin Niederhauser Germany
Carrie Schriener Germany
Doreen Seidel Germany
Vivien Keszthelyi Hungary
Mira Erda India
Sneha Sharma India
Carlotta Fedeli Italy
Vicky Piria Italy
Miki Koyama Japan
Fabienne Wohlwend Liechtenstein
Siti Shahkirah Malaysia
Stephane Kox Netherlands
Milou Mets Netherlands
Shirley Van Der Lof Netherlands
Beitske Visser Netherlands
Ayla Agren Norway
Natalia Kowalska Poland
Alexandra Marinescu Romania
Ivana Cetinich South Africa
Fabienne Lanz South Africa
Tasmin Pepper South Africa
Carmen Boix Spain
Marta Garcia Spain
Carmen Jorda Spain
Sharon Scolari Switzerland
Amna Al Qubaisi UAE
Jamie Chadwick UK
Esmee Hawkey UK
Jessica Hawkins UK
Sarah Moore UK
Alice Powell UK
Toni Breidinger USA
Sabre Cook USA
Courtney Crone USA
Natalie Decker USA
Cassie Gannis USA
Shea Holbrook USA
Sheena Monk USA
Hanna Zellers USA
Samin Gomez Venezuela
Francesca Linossi Italy
Gosia Rdest Poland
Alexandra Whitley Australia




You may also like