Force India


The team formerly known as Jordan Grand Prix had a confused identity in the years immediately after founder Eddie Jordan decided to sell. Midland gave way to Spyker before entrepreneur Vijay Mallya acquired the Silverstone-based concern in 2008.

Renamed Force India for that year’s Formula 1 World Championship, it was the 2009 Belgian Grand Prix before the re-branded team scored a point. However, that was some turnaround with Giancarlo Fisichella qualifying on pole position and finishing second behind Kimi Räikkönen’s Ferrari. That was a rare day running with Formula 1’s grandees however although Sergio Pérez did finish third in the 2014 Bahrain and 2015 Russian GPs.

Subrata Roy Sahara acquired a stake in the team in 2012 but, as with many of its midfield rivals, keeping a modern F1 concern afloat continues to be an achievement in itself.