Red Bull Racing


Dietrich Mateschitz founded Red Bull in 1987 and saw extreme sports and event promotion as key to marketing his new energy drink. Previously a Formula 1 sponsor with Arrows and Sauber, Mateschitz acquired the under-performing Jaguar Racing team in 2005 and installed sometime Formula 3000 driver and successful team owner Christian Horner as the youngest F1 Team Principal so far.

Early progress was slow although David Coulthard did finish third in the 2006 Monaco Grand Prix. Key to the emergence of Red Bull Racing as a leading player was the arrival of Adrian Newey to work on the RB3. Now powered by Renault engines, the team came of age in 2009 with young star Sebastian Vettel challenging eventual champion Jenson Button.

Runners-up that year, Vettel and Red Bull won both championships for the next four years during a period that bore similarities to the Schumacher/Ferrari domination at the start of the century. However, the change to 1.6-litre turbocharged engines in 2014 saw Renault, and therefore Red Bull, usurped at the top of the time charts by Mercedes-Benz.