Westcott Driving Tests

The spacious Westcott Venture Park in Bucks and its convenient clubhouse was used once again by the VSCC for its winter driving-tests on December 5 of last year. Best score was achieved by President David Marsh (Bugatti). The interestingly rare Chater Lea did well to beat Randall's big Stutz and the 1904 Wolseley. Nine cars withstood the rigours of the day and seventeen non-started.


1st Class Awards: C Tidball (1914 Chater Lea), J Seaward (Calthoipe), D Marsh (Bugatti), R Marsh (Bugatti) G Smith (MG), J Diffey (30/98), K MacMaster (FN-BMW), T Jones (A7)

2nd Class Awards: R Wills(Jowett), C HamiltonGould (Morris), J Williamson (MG), M Garfitt (FN-BMW) G Own (Frazer-Nash) B Roberts (Frazer-Nash), J Baxter (Frazer-Nash)

3rd Class Awards: T Nixon (Morris), P Rosornan(A7), Miss Pilkinton (Riley), M Ballard (Frazer-Nash), A Peacop (MG), S Welsh (A7), E Briscoe (A7)

VSCC Lakeland Trial

The premier award winners in this long-established event were: Bridge Trophy (best performance): A Johnson (Bugatti), Kirkstile Plate (best in opposite class) : S Baxter (Chrysler). Roy Patterson Cup (best previous non-winner): J Wells (MG), Chris Browning Memorial Trophy (longest distance to start): F Zimmer (Vauxhall).

The indomitable Morgan Three Wheeler Club's Night trial was seriously affected by gales and floods in Mid-Wales. Even so, six competitors did their 13 tests and revised 50-mile route.