The "Motor Sport" Silverstone Trophy

Owing to difficulties in organisation, neither the Motor Cycling Club nor the Jaguar DC/Bentley DC were able to hold qualifying races for the Motor Sport Silverstone Trophy at their meetings. This reduces the number of eligible meetings to three, so that eight drivers can qualify at each of the remaining two meetings. The first of these is organised by the Peterborough Motor Club on Saturday, September 17th, commencing at 1 pm, which will also include races for vintage, saloon, Formula Junior and Formula Libre cars. Invited Clubs include BARC, Bentley DC, BRSCC, Bugatti OC, Nottingham SCC, 750 MX and VSCC. The first three in the Motor Sport Silverstone Trophy qualifying race will receive prizes of £10, £6 and £4, respectively.

The Final of the Trophy will be staged at the North Staffordshire MC's meeting on Saturday, September 24th. Invited clubs at this meeting include Austin Healey DC, BARC, Bugatti OC, BARC, Nottingham SCC. Maidstone & Mid-Kent MC, Peterborough MC, 750 MC and the BRSCC. Racing commences at 12.30 pm. The qualifying heats will be held at the start of the meeting, with the Final taking place towards the end of the day's racing. With worth-while prizes of £75, £40 and £15 for first, second and third, the Final is usually very hotly contested. In addition there are a large number of five and 10-lap races to make up the day's entertainment.

Those who have already qualified for the Final are BTJ Cooper (Austin A35), GD Golding (Fairthorpe), MAdlington (Lotus). Mrs. JA Gammon (Ford Anglia), D Hobbs (Jaguar XK120), NH Dangerfield (Triumph TR3), AB Wyatt (Halsalec) and SA Goodwin (Ford).