Cobra's sting in the tale

The annual six-hour classic race at Spa provided rich pickings for British crews, even though the two leading Ford GT4Os were excluded after post-race scrutineering.

Jaguar enthusiast Allen Lloyd teamed up with preparation ace Gerry Wainwright to take the che-quered flag from the similar car of Chris Chiles and Philip Walker, but both cars were later removed from the results.

That handed victory to the spiritedly driven AC Cobra of John Bendall, who enlisted the driving talents of Peter Hardman and James Shead to ensure a cracking pace.

Willie Green's rare Ligier JS3 proved too strong for the European Historic Group 4 Trophy field, although Bruce van der Merwe's Chevron B19 kept the French car in sight

Elsewhere on the programme, Peter Stobinski and Freddy Kumschick shared Historic F2 spoils, and HGPCA wins went to John Beasley (Brabham BT4) and Robin Lodge (Ferrari Dino). Chris Sanders shared his Lotus Cortina with tin-top ace Jonathan Buncombe to win the Top Hat Touring Car race. PL