Articles tagged D. J. Herbert

Page 22 of March 1951 archive issue thumbnail Page 22, March 1951

The Leicestershire

•••••• • The Leicestershire C.C. elected the following officials at its A.G.M. :— President: 11. E. Sawford ; Viee-Pmiriente : Mrs. It. A. Webb, Measrs. F. Bowles, H. Broivett, W. F,. Sturgess, W. A. Tivey and ii. Waddington ; Seeretary : H. H. Mayes (" Willoughby," I.eieester Road, islarborougli); Hon. 7'reinntrer 0. P. Williams ; Hon. Competition" Srcretary K. N. Towle' Ca plain W. R. Yates;...

Page 14 of November 1951 archive issue thumbnail Page 14, November 1951

Report of Recent Events

Reports of Recent Events SHELSLEY WALSH HiLL-CLIMB (Sept. 22nd) With a time of :3(1.02 sec., Ken Wharton lowered the car record for the hill and also bettered the absolute record held by a Vincent-If. R.D. motor-cycle. In practice Dennis Poore recorded 36.92 sec., the first time the 1,000 yards have ever been covered in under 37 sec. An unfortunate accident happened to A. J. Butterworth, when the...

Page 27 of October 1950 archive issue thumbnail Page 27, October 1950

Reports of Recent Events

SHENSTONE & D.C.C. FIRST EVENING TRIAL (August 26th) SPORTS CARS: J. H. Leigh (Frazer-Nash). TRIALS CARS: L. Tracey (Dellow). ORDINARY CARS: J. Tregenza (Bradford). LAGONDA C.C. THAME RALLY (September 27th) CONCOURS D'ELEGANCE LAGONDAS: 1. F. Defty (4 1/2-litre L.G.45R.) 2. Major Armitage (2-litre), J. S. Speller (2-litre). LIGHT CARS: 1. R. H. Marks (A.C.). 2. R. Russel (Talbot). 3. Mrs. M....


January 2020
Racing Rivalries: The 25 most explosive battles between drivers, teams, cars... and families.



Sign up to our newsletters
The latest news, straight to your inbox – click below to sign up to the newsletter list.



The Motor Sport App
Carry Motor Sport with you, wherever you go. On iOS, Android and Kindle.


Noticed a mistake on this page?

Tell Us About It