Hall of Fame 2017 gallery


On the evening of June 7, six greats from motor racing past and present were inducted into the Motor Sport Hall of Fame. Two new categories, an Inspiration Award and Industry Champion, were introduced at this year’s event. After a public vote, the inductees were Nigel Mansell (Formula 1), Brian Redman (sports cars), Barry Sheene (motorcycling), Roger Penske (US racing), Murray Walker (Inspiration Award) and David Richards (Industry Champion).

A highlight of the evening was the sight of iconic race cars and bikes taking to the Captain’s Drive at the Royal Automobile Club’s Woodcote Park. Among them, Brian Redman returned to the seat of an original Ford GT40, Paul Hollywood rode John Surtees’ 1960 world title winning MV Agusta and Dario Franchitti drove Bruce McLaren’s own M6A.

Read more about the Motor Sport Hall of Fame

You may also like