W Series announces FIA Superlicence points allocation ahead of 2020 season


2020 will be the first season in which FIA Superlicence points are available to drivers, with the champion receiving 15 points


FIA Superlicence points will be on offer for the first time to W Series drivers in 2020, with the new points allocations confirmed ahead of the new season.

The first eight championship places will receive Superlicence points on a sliding scale from 15 to one.

The W Series allocation puts it on par with that of the NASCAR Cup Series, Formula Renault Eurocup, Euroformula Open and Indy Lights series.

Qualification for Formula 1 requires 40 points accumulated over the three most recent seasons.

2020 W Series FIA Superlicence points allocation

Position Points
1st 15
2nd 12
3rd 10
4th 7
5th 5
6th 3
7th 2
8th 1

2020 will also be the final season that a W Series champion can defend her crown, with Jamie Chadwick returning for the new season alongside the top 12 from 2019’s championship and eight new drivers.

“We’re delighted that the FIA has made the decision to award Super Licence points to W Series’ most successful drivers from the 2020 season onwards, thereby adding to the importance of W Series as a ‘feeder’ series for female drivers who aspire to race in more senior championships,” W Series CEO Catherine Bond Muir said of the announcement.

“Indeed, now that the first eight in the W Series championship will accrue Super Licence points, W Series has become an even more important rung on the motorsport ladder for female drivers whose ambition is to race and one day beat male drivers in the FIA Formula 3 Championship, which is logically the next rung on the ladder for them, and beyond.”

W Series’ advisory board chairman David Coulthard added the move to allocate points was evidence of FIA’s belief in the all-female series.

Related content

“Personally, I’m delighted that W series has been further recognised by the FIA via the allocation of Super Licence points, the holy grail in any driver’s aspiration to become a Formula 1 driver,” Coulthard said.

“Irrespective of where our current W Series drivers may race in future, the FIA’s decision confirms my absolute belief that W series is essential in developing female talent and giving female drivers the opportunity to develop their skills so as to become successful professional racing drivers in the future.

“I would like to thank the FIA president, Jean Todt, for his vision and support ahead of what is only the second season of the W Series championship.”

The first round of the season will take place at the new Igora Drive circuit in Russia on May 30th.