2024 Le Mans 24 Hours full starting grid: Porsche on pole

Le Mans News

Kevin Estre in the No6 Porsche will start on pole for this weekend's Le Mans 24 Hours. Here's the full grid that will line up behind him, including results from the LMP2 and LMGT3 categories

Porsche Le Mans 2024

Porsche will start from the front, but will it stay there?


Porsche will start on pole for the 2024 Le Mans 24 Hours after a last gasp lap knocked Cadillac off the top perch in Thursday’s hyperpole shootout. Keep reading for more on hyperpole or click below for the full entry list.

Le Mans entry list

While BMW topped the first qualifying session on Wednesday, the team’s luck ran out in hyperpole when Dries Vanthoor, in the No15 BMW crashed at Indianapolis, stopping the session. It was unfortunate too for Antonio Fuoco who looked on course for a pole-worthy lap when the red flags came out.

At that point, Cadillac’s Sébastien Bourdais was topping the timesheets. With an empty tank and no refuelling allowed, he got out of his No3 car to the congratulations of his team.

The remaining contenders were lining up in the pitlane, however, with more than seven minutes on the clock.

It proved enough for Alex Lynn in the No2 sister Cadillac to beat Bourdais’ lap by just four-hundredths of a second with a kerb, and then, in the very final time set in the session, Kevin Estre in the No6 Porsche went 0.148sec faster to claim pole for the pre-race favourites with a kerb crashing, wheel-sliding all-out effort. It came after a disappointing race for the Porsche 963 runners in 2023.

“An amazing feeling to stand on pole in Le Mans,” said Estre. “The team gave me a mega car.

“It was very stressful, we didn’t have much fuel to do many laps.

“I’m really proud to be a part of this team and what we’ve achieved and what we improved compared to last year. But that’s just the beginning. There is one big day on Saturday and Sunday.”

Porsche Le Mans Pole

A banzai lap put Porsche on the front row


Bourdais said he was happy with his effort and the No3 Cadillac will start alongside No6 Porsche on Saturday afternoon, due to a five-place grid penalty for the No2 Cadillac; the result of a crash in the last World Endurance Championship round at Spa.

Both Ferraris had times within a second of Estre and will start on the second row, followed by the No35 Alpine and then the demoted Cadillac.

Related article

Schumacher fired up to ‘attack’ Le Mans 2024 with Alpine
Le Mans News

Schumacher fired up to ‘attack’ Le Mans 2024 with Alpine

Mick Schumacher is set to follow in the enduro wheel tracks of his father this weekend, as he gears up to race for Alpine at Le Mans — an opportunity, as he tells
James Elson, which could help prove his behind-the-wheel ability

By James Elson

As Toyota’s Kamui Kobayashi found in Wednesday’s session, triggering a red flag results in all lap times being deleted, so the No15 BMW will start in sixth, ahead of the penalised Cadillac and the No12 Porsche, run by Jota which had to be frantically rebuilt after Callum Ilott crashed it in practice on Wednesday night.

Louis Delétraz will start at the front of the LMP2 pack after a battle for class pole between his No14 AP by TF car and the No28 IDEC Sport car of Job Van Uitert — the pair separated by 0.6sec.

Five different manufacturers occupy the first five places on the LMGT3 grid which looks as closely competitive as the other three categories.

Brendan Iribe’s No70 McLaren, run by Inception Racing ended Hyperpole at the head of the field, eight-tenths ahead of the No92 Porsche 911 of Manthey Racing. Behind them lie a Ferrari 296, Ford Mustang and Aston Martin Vantage.


2024 Le Mans 24 Hours full starting grid 

*Bolded times were set during Thursday’s Hyperpole session


1. No6 Porsche Penske Motorsport
3min 24.634sec
Estre / Lotterer / Vanthoor
2. No3 Cadillac Racing
3min 24.816sec
Bourdais / van der Zande / Dixon
3. No51 Ferrari AF Corse
3min 25.156sec
Pier Guidi / Calado / Giovinazzi
4. No50 Ferrari AF Corse
3min 25.598sec
Fuoco / Molina / Nielsen
5. No35 Alpine Endurance Team
3min 25.713sec
Chatin / Habsburg / Milesi
6. No15 BMW M Team WRT
3min 24.465sec
Vanthoor / Marciello / Wittmann
7. No2 Cadillac Racing
3min 24.782sec (Penalty)
Bamber / Lynn / Palou
8. No12 Hertz Team Jota
3min 25.145sec
Stevens / Nato / Ilott
9. No36 Alpine Endurance Team
3min 25.278sec
Lapierre / Schumacher / Vaxivière
10. No5 Porsche Penske Motorsport
3min 25.307sec
Campbell / Christensen / Makowiecki
11. No8 Toyota Racing
3min 25.446sec
Buemi / Hartley / Hirakawa
12. No83 AF Corse
3min 25.766sec
Kubica / Schwartzman / Ye
13. No63 Lamborghini Iron Lynx
3min 25.973sec
Bortolotti / Kvyat / Mortara
14. No99 Proton Competition
3min 25.992sec
Jani / Tincknell / Andlauer
15. No93 Peugeot TotalEnergies
3min 26.195sec
Vergne / Jensen / Müller
16. No20 BMW M Team WRT
3min 26.223sec
van der Linde / Frijns / Rast
17. No38 Hertz Team Jota
3min 26.290sec
Rasmussen / Hanson / Button
18. No311 Whelen Cadillac Racing
3min 26.311sec
Derani / Aitken / Drugovich
19. No4 Porsche Penske Motorsport
3min 26.362sec
Jaminet / Nasr / Tandy
20. No94 Peugeot TotalEnergies
3min 27.251sec
Vandoorne / Di Resta / Duval
21.No19 Lamborghini Iron Lynx
3min 27.655sec
Grosjean / Caldarelli / Cairoli
22. No11 Isotta Fraschini
3min 29.865sec
Bennett / Vernay / Serravale
23. No7 Toyota Racing
No Time
Lopez / Kobayashi / de Vries



24. No14 Ao By TF
3min 33.217sec
Hyett / Delétraz / Quinn
25. No28 IDEC Sport
3min 33.827sec
Lafargue / van Uitert / de Gerus
26. No65 Panis Racing
3min 34.053sec
Sales / Beche / Huffaker
27. No23 United Autosports US
3min 34.221sec
Keating / Albuquerque / Hanley
28. No22 United Autosports
3min 34.270sec
Jarvis / Garg / Siegel
29. No37 Cool Racing
3min 34.773sec
Fluxa / Jakobsen / Miyata
30. No33 DKR Engineering
3min 34.330sec
Mattschull / Binder / Horr
31. No10 Vector Sport
3min 34.262sec
Cullen / Pilet / Richelmi
32. No183 AF Corse
3min 34.767sec
Perrodo / Barnicoat / Varrone
33. No24 Nielsen Racing
3min 34.794sec
Scherer / Hansson / Simpson
34 No34 Inter Europol Competition
3min 34.885sec
Smiechowski / Lomko / Novalak
35. No9 Proton Competition
3min 34.963sec
Ried / Capietto / Viscaal
36. No30 Duqueine Team
3min 35.070sec
Falb / Allen / Simmenauer
37. No47 Cool Racing
3min 35.360sec
Rao / Bell / Vesti
38. No25 Algarve Pro Racing Team
3min 35.474sec
Kaiser / Caldwell / De Angelis
39. No45 Crowdstrike Racing by APR
3min 39.222sec
Kutz / Braun / Catsburg



40. No70 Inception Racing
3min 58.120sec
41. No92 Manthey PureRxcing
3min 58.928sec
42. No66 JMW Motorsport
3min 58.938sec
43. No77 Proton Competition
3min 59.443sec
44. No27 Heart of Racing Team
3min 59.655sec
45. No777 D’Station Racing
4min 02.787sec
46. No82 TF Sport
4min 03.681sec
47. No60 Iron Lynx
4min 06.495sec
48. No85 Iron Dames
3min 56.530sec
49. No87 Akkodis ASP Team LMGT3
3min 56.561sec
50. No59 United Autosports
3min 56.710sec
51. No46 Team WRT
3min 56.738sec
52. No54 Vista AF Corse
3min 56.780sec
53. No44 Proton Competition
3min 56.836sec
54. No31 Team WRT
3min 56.947sec
55. No91 Manthey EMA
3min 57.026sec
56. No88 Proton Competition
3min 57.221sec
57. No81 TF Sport
3min 57.296sec
58. No95 United Autosports
3min 57.313sec
59. No155 Spirit of Race
3min 57.349sec
60. No78 Akkodis ASP Team
3min 57.441sec
61. No55 Vista AF Corse
3min 58.282sec
62. No86 GR Racing
No Time